Pair of portraits of William III and Mary II
In the style of Willem Wissing
17th century
Oil on canvas with gilt wood frames
In celebration of re-opening, our March Object of the Month is a pair of portraits which hang opposite the front desk. The portraits depict William III and Mary II, framed in the most elaborate and decorative frames in the castle’s collection. The frames are made from gilt wood and are decorated with leaves, garlands, and crowns. Both frames include a crown, as William III and Mary II ruled as joint monarchs of England, Scotland, and Ireland. Their reign was the first in England to have a King and Queen who ruled together equally.
William and Mary were asked by parliament to take their thrones after King James II was exiled after the birth of his son. It was feared that James II’s heir would be raised as a Catholic ruler like his father. Mary, who was the daughter of James II, was a protestant. She married William III and lived with him in Holland, until parliament called on him and Mary to come to England and rule jointly. They were crowned as monarchs in 1689 in the place of James II and his descendants, who made several later attempts to regain the throne.
Delft plate with William III and Mary II wearing crowns, ca. late 1600s, Chiddingstone Castle collection, object number 01.2241
The painting of William II depicts him wearing armour, which was common for his portraits at the time. Wars raged across Europe for most of William and Mary’s reign, as Louis XIV tried to take power over Europe. Portraits of William in armour, heroically defending his country, reflected military strength to gather support and admiration. Mary II is depicted wearing an expensive and fashionable dress, emphasising her wealth and power. She was known for her love of art – she worked to preserve historic works in the royal collection, commissioned the famous paintings of eight ‘Hampton Court Beauties’ by Godfrey Kneller, and collected porcelain, including examples from China and Japan.
Both portraits are in the style of the renowned Dutch artist Willem Wissing (1656 – 1687). Wissing was one of the leading portrait artists of the time, and his works were reproduced and copied by other artists and engravers. There is another copy of Wissing’s portrait of Mary II in the castle’s collection, which shows us more of her dress, pose, and background. Both paintings are very high-quality reproductions of Wissing’s original painting of Mary II, painted in 1685. The painter of the castle’s portrait added extra details, such as the pink rose lying on Mary’s cloak.
Portrait of Mary II, after Willem Wissing, oil on canvas in gilt wood frame, Chiddingstone Castle collection 01.2489
Denys Eyre Bower, the last owner of the castle, was a member of the Royal Stuart Society. He collected documents, relics, and portraits related to the Stuarts and Jacobites, or supporters of belief that the descendants of James II were the rightful heirs to the throne of England, Scotland, and Ireland. The Royal Stuart Society was formed in 1926 as a successor to older Jacobite organisations and they still celebrate Stuart and Royalist anniversaries today. It is interesting that Denys collected portraits and objects related to William III and Mary II, who were considered the enemies of the Jacobites as they had replaced their rightful ruler, James II. A traditional toast made at Jacobite dinners was to ‘the little gentleman in black velvet’, referring to a mole, as William III died falling from his horse when it stepped in a mole-hill. Denys’ love of collecting portraits seems to have overshadowed the loyalty he may have felt to the Stuarts as a member of the Royal Stuart Society.
Photograph of Denys Eyre Bower at a Royal Stuart Society dinner (fourth along on the left), Chiddingstone Castle archive
This object is just one of the many objects that form part of Denys Eyre Bower’s five impressive collections which include Ancient Egyptian, Japanese, Buddhist, Stuart and Jacobite, and Books. For more information on these objects, review our Object of the Month series, visit the Historic House and Collections or contact our Curator, Naomi Collick by email or by calling 01892 870347.
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Opening Hours
CASTLE, COLLECTIONS & TEA ROOM
The Castle, Tea Room and Gift Shop are open Thursday to Sunday from 12 March to 1 November 2026. Except when closed for private events.
PARKING IS CHARGED ALL YEAR ROUND
Parking is free for the first hour, then charged at £1 for up to 2 hours or £3 for the full day (+20p Ringo fee).
GROUNDS AND LAKE
Open daily 7am - 6.30pm except when closed for private functions
WEDDINGS, FILM SHOOTS AND PRIVATE BOOKINGS ENQUIRIES
Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm