Portrait of Louisa Maria Theresa

After Nicolas de Largilliere

Oil on canvas in gilt frame

17th – 18th century

This portrait hangs in the castle’s Print Room, where highlights from the Stuart and Jacobite collection are displayed. It depicts Louisa Maria Theresa Stuart (1692 – 1712) when she was around three years old. Louisa was the sister of Prince James Francis Edward Stuart, the heir to the Stuart family and their claim to the throne of England, Ireland, and Scotland. In 1689, James and Louisa’s father, King James II, was exiled to Europe because of fears that he would lead a new Catholic dynasty. A group of politicians carried out a plot to replace him with a new ruler, William of Orange.

This portrait is a copy of part of a painting by Nicolas de Largilliere (1656 – 1746). Largilliere’s original painting, which is in the collection of the National Portrait Gallery (NPG 976), depicted James Francis Edward Stuart in the clothing of a prince with Louisa next to him. The artist of the portrait in the castle’s collection decided to focus just on Louisa, enlarging the section of the portrait with her in it and adding an oval border. During her short life, Louisa was a popular, loved, and celebrated figure. She was considered to be a princess by those in Europe who still supported her father’s right to rule.

Portrait of Prince James Francis Edward Stuart and Princess Louisa Maria Theresa Stuart, Nicolas de Largilliere, 1695, wikimedia commons

The portrait depicts Louisa Maria Theresa Stuart wearing a white silk dress and a lace headdress. In the 17th century, children were dressed like adults from a young age for formal portraits. 17th-century dress was based on French court fashions. Louisa was born in France and grew up amongst the aristocracy. She is dressed in a fashionable French style with a dress which is gathered at the back and worn with a corset. Tall hairstyles were popular. Louisa is wearing a headdress made from layers of folded lace stiffened with wires. She is pointing with her right hand and holding flowers in her left. Her rosy cheeks emphasise her youth and beauty. In the original portrait by Largilliere, she is pointing to her brother in honour of his status as the heir to the Stuart throne.

James II was given a palace by his cousin Louis XIV and he still maintained the traditions and ceremonies that he carried out when he was King. He believed that he would be able to return to England to rule one day, but all future attempts made by the Stuart family to take back the throne failed.

Ancient tombs as they are seen today in Osaka, including the tomb of Emperor Nintoku (the largest in the image). The Japan Times,

Louisa was the only daughter of James II and Mary of Modena who survived past infancy. She was treasured as a consolation to her father during his exile in Europe. She was popular at the French court and there were rumours that she would be married to the grandson of Louis XIV. The flowers she is holding in this portrait are likely to be orange blossoms. Orange blossoms were Louis XIV’s favourite flower, so they are a symbol of his favour and support. Sadly, in 1712, both Louisa and her brother James fell ill with smallpox. James survived, but Louisa died at the age of 20.

For the Jacobites, or the supporters of the Stuarts, the birth and potential future marriage of Louisa strengthened hopes for the survival of the family in exile and their future return to rule in England, Ireland, and Scotland. This may be why the artist of this portrait decided to focus on her, rather than copying the original portrait by Largilliere which included her brother.

Medal commemorating the death of Princess Louisa, 1712, by Norbert Roettier, Chiddingstone Castle collection, object number 01.1768

This object is just one of the many objects that form part of Denys Eyre Bower’s five impressive collections which include Ancient Egyptian, Japanese, Buddhist, Stuart and Jacobite, and Books. For more information on these objects, review our Object of the Month series, visit the Historic House and Collections or contact our Curator, Naomi Collick by email or by calling 01892 870347.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Opening Hours

CASTLE, COLLECTIONS & TEA ROOM

The Castle, Tea Room and Gift Shop are open Thursday to Sunday from 12 March to 1 November 2026. Except when closed for private events.

PARKING IS CHARGED ALL YEAR ROUND

Parking is free for the first hour, then charged at £1 for up to 2 hours or £3 for the full day (+20p Ringo fee).

GROUNDS AND LAKE

Open daily 7am - 6.30pm except when closed for private functions

Fishing available

 

 

WEDDINGS, FILM SHOOTS AND PRIVATE BOOKINGS ENQUIRIES
Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm

print